For What It’s Worth

“There’s something happening here. What it is ain’t exactly clear”.

Yeah, somethings up and I don’t know what it is.

Haven’t felt like blogging and haven’t felt like doing much of anything. It’s been well over two weeks, I think, since the last blog. I just got something going on, and I’m not sure what. But I do know, that it is going to be good.

I haven’t exercised since (let me check my notes) January 9th, and the desire to do so has evaporated like Obama’s approval rating. Not depressed (I gave myself the Beck Depression Inventory test, and I’m ok), just, I don’t know, I think I’m in transition.

I think I’m moving into a new area. Not sure exactly what but I’m moving on to something. So let me just ramble.

I’m finding out about God’s grace. I don’t quite have it all yet, but I’m getting it. There’s a lot of freedom, but it doesn’t give me license to continue to sin. So, with God’s grace, I’m getting closer to God.

Bonnie and I went and saw Beatlemania last week, and what great memories. They sounded just like the Beatles, and looked pretty close to them too. The guy looked and sounded just like McCartney. My favorite was always George Harrison, and this guy was fantastic with his guitar playing also. Great memories. Can’t believe 50 years ago they were on Ed Sullivan.

Bonnie and I have been going to the movies every week for the past 5-6 weeks. It’s our weekly date. We just saw “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty”. It’s a pretty interesting story of a guy who lived in his head, but then began to experience some great things by stepping out in real life.  It brought me to where I am tonight.

See, so many times I live in my head (don’t we all? Future plans, what you could do if you had the money, time, or courage). As I watched this movie and saw how he had taken the leap to fully go after something (meeting a photographer), I realized that my Christianity, my walk with Christ, has been mostly in my head. Oh, I’ve been faithful to Him more, but that’s not what I’m talking about. I’m not talking about trying harder.

I’m talking about giving it all. 100%. No holds barred. Diving in head first. Leaving it all out on the field. Not in a religious sort of way, but in a “loving Christ” kind of way. It’s easy to say you love God ( or anyone) but not as easy to walk it out, being faithful when you don’t want to be, not lashing out when you want to, taking the consequences of telling the truth. You get the picture.

So I’m studying more. I’m reading more. Books on Christian theology, novels by men who love Christ, and the Bible.  1 Timothy 4:8 says, “For bodily exercise profits little, but godliness is profitable unto all things”. So, I am not giving up on losing weight. I know I will get back to where I need to be mentally in regards to this, but there is such an excitement for falling deeper in love with Christ.

I know some of you think, “Oh great, a religious nut. I thought this was about weight loss”. Well, it’s both. Though I’m not religious (but possibly a nut), I am passionate for Christ. I fear many that read this say, “I’m a Christian”, and live lives the opposite of His teaching. I’m not talking perfection, but a move toward godliness.

I find I need to eliminate distractions. Ever see the commercial where these athletes are on the bus and crowds are yelling stuff at them? They slip on their headphones and it drowns out the distractions. That’s where I’m at. I’m putting the headphones on to block out the distractions.

What are the distractions? Social media. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, even Pintrest. All these things are distractions that occupy too many large blocks of my time. Are they bad things? No, not in moderation. But they distract. I haven’t decided if I’m keeping them or if I will just casually use them, if I can do that. I have kind of an addictive personality.

So, sorry for the delay in blogging, but I guess I’m just trying to figure me out. Hope you stay along on the journey until I do, because, man, it’s gonna be awesome. Something is happening here. I’m excited to find it.

Weight 262.2 (Not bad for being a slouch this month).

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

