Why I went to the hospital

I’m fat.

Well, maybe that’s not the simple answer, but partly that’s it. Been overweight most of my life except when I smoked and drank. The doctor told me when I was smoking, “I don’t care if you gain a hundred pounds, you’ll still be healthier than if you are a smoker”. The doctor lied.

I moved up to Pennsylvania weighing in at a svelt 157 pounds. I was a drinker and smoker, ran on the beaches of Florida where I used to live, was in great outside shape. Then I came to Christ, and quit all those bad habits and went back to my original habit which was overeating. My gosh, people, don’t judge me, I’m Italian. Pasta? Bread? Meatballs? Cheese? Heck yeah, that wasn’t my diet, it was my lifestyle.

I overindulge on everything, so food is socially acceptable, especially since I had become a Christian, and went along for the ride. After all, what’s a church function without desserts?

But I’ve had warnings of being overweight and the need to lose weight. My family, who loves me dearly, has told me that I need to be careful. I’m diabetic, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, high weight, sleep apnia, (“and the beat goes on….the beat goes on”). You’d think, as I’m semi-intelligent that I would have come to my senses earlier. But, again, I’m Italian.

So we made diet changes: Whole wheat pasta (that sound you hear is my mother rolling over in her grave), whole wheat bread, very limited red meats, lots of salads, etc. Sounds great, and it is positive, lifestyle changes. But desserts…….

At my church when we have a dinner, I head right to the desserts. My church, although not large, has a lot, and I mean a lot, of good bakers. Cherry cheesecakes, brownies, muffins, oreo cakes, etc. Cookies? How many kinds do you want? Pies? Of course.

My mother was a Mistretta. All the Mistretta’s I know love desserts. Ok, not all, but most. Oh there are quite a few thin Mistretta’s, but you can count them on your fingers. I think they’re adopted. So weight is an issue.

Now, I went to the hospital because of high blood pressure. But that’s not the REASON I went to the hospital.

I went to the hospital because God has been trying to get my attention, and I semi-listened. You know fellas, like when your wife is talking to you and SportsCenter is on the TV. You listen to them, but don’t absorb it.

So, God, I am listening. I understand You have a plan for me and want me in better shape. You will not love me less if I’m fat, but there will be less of me to love if I’m skinnier. I have given you all of me, but you want less of me to be given on the OUTSIDE. You want all of me, without a doubt, so all of me You will have, but in a smaller package.

Since I moved up here over 26 years ago, I have proven the doctors’ wrong. I have gained over 100 pounds, and am not very healthy. I want to be healthy. I want to play with my grandkids if my children and their wife and husband cooperate and get me a couple. Or is God waiting on me to get in shape to enjoy them?

So what does it all mean, Basil? It means that with God’s help, I can lose 75 pounds. But God also has given me great friends, on FaceBook and not on Facebook, to help. I want your help. I want you to hold me accountable. When you see me, ask me, “Do you really need to have TWO cream filled donuts, Joe”? Ask me how my weight loss is coming. But most of all, pray for me. Pray that I don’t “diet”, but change my lifestyle of eating. I want to be healthy and harrass Red Sox and Steelers fans for a long time.

I hope you like my blog. If you do, share it. If you don’t, how about praying for me anyways? 

Thanks for listening/reading. There’ll be more to come later.

Peace,

Joe

4 Responses

  1. Joe, what a moving note. Know that I wil keep you in my prayers, not for a deit, but that you lose the weight and eat healthy. I know our God and Father always watches over us and keeps us in His loving care. Take good care of yourself,1-for yourself, 2-because there are alot of other people out there in this world that need your guidance. Good luck and God Bless.
    Tom Benson

  2. I love to read your writings… thanks for sharing!!! Your honesty and comedy will most definitely help you and alot of other people… keep living.. keep writing!

  3. Go Joe Go!!! Love ya! Karen

  4. Hi everybody, my name is John and I’m a fataholic, I used to think God gave me 2 hands to shovel food faster…if I could have used my feet also, well that’s another story…Anyhooo, Joe keep up the good life style changes, one day at a time and or bite…Lot of people love & need ya’…Will be praying for your success…my own wt goes up and down…mainly up, so if you wanna throw a prayer my way, I won’t mind…God Bless

Leave a Reply

