Because you’re mine…..I walk the line.

Walking. Yes indeed I’m walking. (I’m a musical kind of guy. Sorry)

Since I got out of the hospital, it’s been in my best interest to walk every day. Going to Buhl Park is my funnest thing to do so far, so I walk. Somewhere, deep inside of me, I believe that my body is speaking to my soul and saying, “Hey, where did Joe go and who is this guy taking over his body?” “You’re eating salads and drinking almond milk?”

Kind of remarkable, this walking thing. I went this morning with my brother Jim, who is almost 70 and he can do laps around me. (I’m not implying he runs laps around me, he can walk further than me. Geesh, I’m not that fat.) Then I went this evening with Bonnie. Bonnie goes into “shopping mode” at the park. Faster than a speeding bullet, she kindly slows down for me. I found out something interesting in my walk with Bonnie tonight.

I watched the ducks and the swan on the pond at the park.The ducks and swan didn’t even look like they were moving. Their little feet were busy working feverishly underwater making them go. (Kind of reminds me of a time at a lake when I lived in Florida, where an alligator didn’t look like it was moving and I discovered as my feet dangled from the dock that it glided just 15 feet away from me.  Needless to say, I learned how to jog).

I then watched the birds, fighting like heck, flapping their wings, then just gliding. Ducks and swans paddle like crazy then get to float. Birds flap their little wings like it’s their job (well, basically, it is….that and targeting cars from 100 feet in the air), and then get to glide. Humans don’t.

We walk, and when we stop walking, we stop. We don’t move. Birds? Glide forever. Ducks? Float all day. But God made it for humans to walk or stop. That’s it. No gliding. Even when we reach the wheelchair stage, we roll or we stop. (There’s a picture of Bonnie behind my mother’s wheelchair at my wedding and I think, if they were alone, she would have pushed her down……well, that’s just conjecture at this point. I probably won’t let Bonnie push me in a wheelchair, though).

Anyways, God has not given us the option to glide. Or float. He gives us periods to rest, but mainly He’s called us to walk. He says in Isaiah 30:21 “Whether you turn to the right or to the left; your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it'”

Basically, He says, “Hey, get moving, I’ll tell you which way to go,  I’ll let you know if you’re on the right path. Excuse me, you on the couch. Put down the donut and the remote. Yeah, it’s Me, God. GET UP!”

Bottom line, I guess is that there is no gliding…..no floating…..no magic carpet ride in this life. It’s a walk. It’s not a sprint. It’s a very long, hopefully long, walk. And you never know…you might just lose a couple pounds along the way!

One Response

  1. That’s funny fat stuff right there…I don’t care what anybody says, lol

Leave a Reply

