Stones in the Road

Well, it’s one of those days.

We all have them, and if anyone is honest that is on a journey like this, it can be discouraging. I thought I was doing pretty well, and have found that since my last post I am up 2 pounds. This is discouraging.

My father, when he worked in the mill, used to have what they called “go to hell” days. Those are days when you just don’t feel like coming into work, so you call off. This appears to be one of those days with me. I called off today.

I find several things about me I don’t like. One, I love immediate results. Two, I am impatient. Three, when I’m tired, I am useless. Four, when I’m spiritually weak, shoot me.

I am tired. My friend Bobby is dying daily. I spend three or 4 (or some cases 8) hours with him a day. My eating is less, but I think that I am not eating enough, if that’s possible. Plus, I am exhausted.

I have eaten more today than I have in a long time. But I really enjoyed it, realizing we have days like that. I slept little, and was too tired for my Planet Fitness morning adventure. (Maybe a walk later?). Discouragement mixed with tiredness and sadness with my friend is a bad combination. Plus my spiritual body is not doing well, as I’m not feeding it like I should.

But it’s not hopeless. I realize I cannot do this all on my own, the Lord has to help me, so that in my weakness, He is made strong. I know there will be stones in the road that I’ll run into and throw me out of whack, but I know I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Pray for my friend Bobby. I’ve never had a friend die before. Parents? Yes. Relatives? Yes, but no friend. We went to Haiti together and he is still such an inspiration for me. Me, yes, pray. This sure is a long journey. Today’s weight: 266.4, up 2 but down 6.6 since May 24th.

Onward.

20130621-164505.jpg

One Response

  1. Tears and smiles. It’s so sad to lose a friend, unfortunately that is part of life. I have to say though that your father’s “go to hell” days made me smile.

Leave a Reply

