Crazy

It’s been crazy for sure.

While I typed my last post, my daughter, Jo Jo was admitted to the hospital for the beginning of labor. Her am-bionic fluid was low, so they planned on her going into the hospital this past Monday.  She’s going to have a baby now….so we thought.

She goes into the hospital and is no where near being ready to deliver. She is having some slight contractions. They decide to give her some meds to help induce labor. Every four hours.

After about 4 doses (16 hours), she is having painful contractions, but only dilated two, and she is not enjoying herself. Finally, the doc decides that they need to check her am-bionic fluids and if it’s normal, they’ll send her home. Meanwhile, Haniah is inside her kicking the crap out of her.

Her level dropped even lower, and Haniah was losing weight in the womb. The doctor broke her water and gave her a different medicine. The doctor said go home and sleep and come back in the morning (it was 6 p.m., that being 25 hours after she was admitted).

We decide, Bonnie and I, that since Luke, Amanda, and Ben were with her, we’d head back up around 4 a.m.  Well, then we decided 3. Then midnight. Then at 9:45 the phone rings and it’s Ben. Jo Jo is in labor and we need to get up there.

We get there and get to see her, then wait in the waiting room. We’re going to have a baby. While waiting there, one of the scariest moments of my life happened.

While waiting, we hear on the overhead “Code Blue in the Birthing area”. All of a sudden, doctors and nurses come running into the nursing area. We didn’t know what was going on. They said again, “Code blue in the Birthing area, room 3”. Jo Jo was in room 1.

Our relief was mixed with sadness for the other baby. A family is outside the birthing area  crying, saying “no, no”. Doctors and nurses come out to talk with them. The baby had stopped breathing. 

I asked the baby’s name, Aubriella, and sent a quick email for our prayer list. God had us there to intercede. They life flighted the baby to Pittsburgh. We don’t know the outcome, but God got prayers out pretty quick.

At 11:50 p.m., we got the call from Josh that Haniah Nadine was born at 11:20 p.m. That little girl changed my name from Joe and Dad to Grandpa! I love her.

Life is so precious. It’s truly a gift from God. That’s why I don’t get the abortion debate. If it’s a baby, then there’s no question. It’s murder.

I realized that through all that happened through the life flight of the Aubriella, that we can’t take anything for granted. We don’t know what tomorrow holds. That’s why I want to get in shape. With James Gandolfini dying at age 51, it reminded me of why I want to lose weight. I’m rapidly approaching 58 with a grandchild (and hopefully others to come). My dad lived to be 90, with 85 of them being good. My mother lived to be 68, with the last few being after a stroke.

I don’t want a stroke or heart attack. I want a healthy life.

I realized while waiting for my granddaughter to come, that I was falling into, what my wife likes to call, “default”. It’s old habits. 

Eating junk for convenience (although I scored a major victory choosing the chicken breast sandwich over the burger or hot dog), and tried to eat Subway when possible. No Planet Fitness at all, missed work Tues. and Weds., no work out today. 

I have to prepare for a memorial service for my friend Bobby, who died last Saturday. It will be held this Saturday (in two days). Bobby will be remembered, and God will be honored.

So with all this being said, my weight this morning was 266.4, which I didn’t think was horrible considering how this week has been. Gained 2.4 which isn’t good, but it’s not as horrible as it could have been. No exercise, lack of water, and poor eating. But now it’s time to move on. 

We can do this. And I’m a grandpa.

4 Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    • Thanks Carol. She is breathtaking.

  2. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just
    sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.

    Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • I find that the shorter the blog the better. It’s better to write a few shorter ones than one long one. I find that is true for myself. I start reading and if it’s long, I tend to drift off. That’s just me though. Just speak from the heart.

Leave a Reply

