Idiot Wind (5 Hot Dogs? Really?)

July 12, 2013

“Idiot Wind (5 Hot Dogs? Really?)

(Notice that all my blog’s names included in “Walking to 199” are song titles. “Idiot Wind” is a great Dylan song.)

Ok, let’s confess this and get it over with. I am an idiot.

Those of you that know me may agree, but those of you that don’t, well, you’re in for a treat.

I had one of those days where I really did good. I exercised, did weights, watched my diet all day at work, was really pumped to go home and keep it up.  Bonnie, Luke, and Amanda said that we should take a walk in the park.

Excellent! Did another two miles in the evening, and it’s 7:30 and we decide lets go to the Hermitage Hot Dog Hut. I love hot dogs, and they’re so healthy. (That was sarcasm, in case you were wondering. I live for sarcasm).

My rule is: Burgers? Only one. Sandwiches? One. Hot dogs? Three, because they’re small. So we go and order, and I decide that I really am hungry so I’ll order four. Notice how I broke the rule? Wait, it gets better.

We order, Bonnie wants two. Luke wants four. I want four. Amanda wants chicken, so she’s not part of this equation. They have a special if you order twelve hot dogs, then you can get it cheaper along with fries and a drink. So, without hesitation, I said, “Bring us twelve. Fix five up Luke’s way and five up my way”. Five. Seriously, I did. All of a sudden I’m thinking I’m Joey Chestnut. I’ve NEVER eaten five hot dogs at one meal.

So along with the fries, I had five hot dogs. Oh, did I mention they were CHEESE hot dogs? I didn’t think I did. Yeah, five. But the Diet Pepsi helped.

I was so sick last night. It did not go well, if you know what I mean. I was so angry at me. I can’t believe I did that. All that work for naught. So I woke up this morning and killed it at the gym. Came home and weighed myself. I am 264.2

I want to break 264, which has been my nemesis for weeks, and if it wasn’t for the Joey Chestnut imitation, I’d be in the low 260’s. But I’m not. So, today again was good. I am ready to enjoy the evening. I will do my best, with God’s help, to eat appropriately.

I’m getting the exercise down pretty good now, but the eating creeps up on me. I realize that when I am famished, or extremely hungry, all the rules are thrown out the window. I don’t think straight. So, the key will be for me not to get famished.

I am not discouraged, just disappointed in me. But I will not quit. I will not be defeated. The Lord says that we are more than conquerors through Christ Jesus. It’s back on the horse again. It’s a lifestyle. I will screw up. I will make mistakes. But I will overcome the mistakes and the screw ups.

I got this.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

