Teach Your Children

August 29, 2013

“Teach Your Children”

Been a while since I’ve blogged. Dealing with a bunch of different stuff.

Well, I’ve added weightlifting, actually, increased weightlifting to my routine. I had no rhyme or reason on how I was lifting, just working on biceps and triceps.

Well, about 4 days ago I lifted, and sometime on Sunday I noticed that I was in pain in the rib cage area. I figured I’d pulled a muscle. Well it’s 4 days, and still in pain, to the point where it hurts to breathe. I overdid some things, I guess.

So I met with the trainer and so did Bonnie. He gave us a routine to follow(when I have my ribs heal), and I realized that although I’ve lifted weights quite often in my life, I have apparently not been lifting correctly.

Very valuable lesson here. Technique is more important than the weight you lift. I was lifting with my back instead of arms, thus the pain in the rib cage. It’s funny after all this time that I have been doing it wrong. I’ve seen results, but not the results that I should see.

This excites me as I’m always willing to learn. I was initially embarrassed, but realized that life is all about learning. You learn more outside the school building than inside.

So, I move on. Trying to be adult and learn my limitations, maybe work more on technique than amount of weight, and continue with the cardio routine. I am not able to do my walking without there being pain in the rib area, so I’ve decided to take the full week off. I miss it and am looking forward to getting back to it.

So, kids, listen to this old man. Just because you’ve done something for years doesn’t mean you’ve been doing it right. See a professional, learn, study, and apply. Wisdom isn’t what you learn, but the application of what you learned. (And pay attention outside of the school building).

My trainer recommended not weighing myself for a month because of discouragement and giving up, so I won’t. Weighed myself two days ago. It was 262.0.  I’ll keep you posted.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

