Hot Legs

Those of you that know me (and those of you that know me from the blogs) find out I’m a pretty transparent kind of guy. A “what you see is what you get” kind of fella.

Well, I’m mostly an idiot, trying to preach, trying to lose weight, trying to be a good pastor/father/husband/grandfather, etc. I tell my congregation that I expose myself more than a stripper at a club. So let’s hear how stupid I am.

Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, has been telling me to use the elliptical instead of the treadmill because it’s a better workout and you burn more calories in the same amount of time. I’ve always had a problem with the elliptical, and here’s why.

I find it very painful. It burns the upper part of my legs, my muscles ache, it’s tiring, and I don’t enjoy it. I understand it is better for my knees, but I just don’t like the pain I go through.

So two days ago, Luke, my eldest son, and I go to Planet Fitness. I see him going to town on the elliptical and think, “What the heck, I’ll give it another shot”. I figured I’d go twenty minutes.

After one minute my legs were burning pretty badly, upper thigh area, and said, “Well, if you go fifteen, that’s not bad”. At the two minute mark, my upper legs were burning badly. I said, “I’ll go ten, but I don’t know how Bonnie, my wife, or any human being can go that long on the elliptical.”

So I’m going as fast as I can, and at three minutes, I say, “I’m going to do 5 minutes. I can’t take the burning”. I begin the self degrading, “sissy, girlie girl, wimp, little boy”, and I look over and Luke is going at it like it’s his job. I hated him for a moment.

I get a text message on my phone while I’m at the 3:45 mark, and tell myself, “Screw this, I’m quitting at 4 minutes”. I actually prayed, “God, help me get to 4 minutes”.

So I slowly climb down from the elliptical, and read the text message. It’s from Luke, 6 or 7 machines down from me. The text reads, and I quote, “You can move forward on it too it may be easier :)”

I’m doing it backwards.

That’s great if I’m a defensive back in the NFL, but he kindly pointed out to me that it would go a lot easier if I did the machine right. Now, realize, I’m too old to be embarrassed by the stupid things I do. Maybe not too old, just that there’s so many of them that I’m getting used to them.

So I go 20 minutes FORWARD on the elliptical. I burn 30 less calories than if I did 30 minutes on the treadmill. So, needless to say, I am excited to get back on the elliptical……..as soon as my legs heal.

2 Responses

  1. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

    • I really don’t know. I just blog and here it is! Sorry Randolph.

Leave a Reply

