We Wish You A Merry Christmas

I’ve been thinking about how excited I am for Christmas. I love everything about Christmas. Even the weather.

You know, I think the best thing living in western Pennsylvania is from Sept. 1 through Jan. 1.  But that’s just me. I love the weather. Winding down of summer (I don’t like HOT, don’t do well with hot and try to avoid hot), cooling off at night, then the cooling off of days.

Temperatures in the 70’s then 60’s then 50’s, putting on flannel shirts, sweat pants and sweat shirts. I love sitting by the fire in the evening, s’mores, hotdogs, hot chocolate. Then the colors.

This year, the main colors of the leaves seemed to be yellow and orange. Absolutely beautiful. Then the sun hitting them, like the burning bush, unbelievable color. Weeds turned yellow and blue and purple, the smell of the leaves, the taste of apple cider, the warmth of hot chocolate. Then on to November.

The weather can be nasty, like it is now. But it’s the anticipation of Thanksgiving, reflection of all that God has provided and what we are thankful for. Friends, shelter, food, and more food. The family all together this year, which hasn’t happened for a few years, so when it happens, it’s thankfulness for the blessing. Oh, and the food. The healthy eating takes a holiday. Thank you God for the food.

Then thoughts turn to Christmas.  I love Christmas. I become a little boy. “A Muppet Christmas Carol”, “Elf”, “It’s A Wonderful Life”, “Miracle on 34th Street”, “Polar Express”, and although inappropriate at times but it still cracks me up, “National Lampoons Christmas Vacation”.

Snow, walking hand in hand with the one you love with Christmas music playing while the snow is falling. (This happened while shopping at the Outlets in Grove City, snow falling, Christmas music playing, walking hand in hand with Bonnie. I thought we were in a movie.)

People complain that Christmas is “commercialized”, it’s “overdone”, it’s “too soon”. But don’t you wonder why the season is rushed?

This year, I particularly was anxious for Christmas to come because I’d been stressed. I began listening to Christmas music the first week of November. I asked myself, “What is the hurry?”

I couldn’t wait for the time when people were nice. They cared about each other. And I cared too. Peace on earth and good will to men. The things that normally bother you no longer bother you, well, at least as much. The neighbor that’s annoying is the one you clean off his windshield.

You help people in need. You give. You love. You express it more. The focus is more on Jesus.

I think Christmas is rushed each year because we all want to feel like this. Loving, caring, actually wanting to “get out of ourselves” and invest in other people. Christmas gives us a chance to do that.

Like the Chipmunks sang, “Christmas, Christmas time is near. Time for joy and time for cheer. We’ve been good but we can’t last. Hurry Christmas, hurry fast”.

In two days its Thanksgiving. Let me be the first to wish you a very Merry Christmas. Peace on earth and goodwill to men.

2 Responses

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a grea job with this. Additionally, the
    blog loads very fast for mee on Safari. Superb Blog!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving !

Leave a Reply

