Cold Turkey

Well, I survived Thanksgiving without too much damage. I am 260.2 pounds, up about a pound. I’ll take that.

I was thinking about how my blogs have been infrequent as I think I have a boring life compared to people I know. I don’t travel much, don’t entertain much, and am a pretty average guy. Oh don’t get me wrong, I love my life. At 58, I’m very happy. But I don’t want to blog just to blog. I will try to blog every Saturday night. (Please hold the applause……or the groans). Also, notice the titles are of songs, at least songs I’m old enough to remember. If you aren’t familiar with them, look them up on YouTube.

I’ve found my identity is wrapped up in several things. Being a man, my identity is wrapped up in what I do. People say, “Tell me about you” and I respond, “Well, I’m a preacher”. Well, that’s what I do, but what am I? If we can get our identity, we can defeat this weight thing. I think we continually search for ourselves. Where or who the heck am I?

I’m a member of the Independent party, so am I Independent? I’m a Yankees fan in baseball, and Br owns, and Michigan Wolverine fan in football, but is that who I am? I had to bring up the sports, because sports causes us to lose who we are. When our team wins, we feel like winners. When we lose, we feel like losers. Winning and losing has little to do with who I am. Although, as you can tell by my football teams, I’m glad I’m a Yankees fan. Winning feels better.

We associate with sports teams. We claim “We’re better than your team”. “We won the World Series”. I’ll be honest. I’ve never played a professional sport, thus, I have never received any compensation from the New York Yankees.

I’m a husband, father, and grandfather. Is that who I am? That’s part of me. I’m a son, although my dad’s dead, but still a son to my Father in heaven. I’m a nephew, a cousin, a father-in-law, uncle and great uncle. Is that me? I’m diabetic. Is that my title?

I don’t know. I think we get a perverted view of ourselves, which causes us to fall into bad ways. We see our flaws and failures and either beat ourselves up (and overeat or over drink) or just get angry and cover it with cockiness saying, “Hey, nobody is perfect. Do you see what THAT GUY is doing?”

I find that my self esteem cannot be wrapped up with anything to do with me. I’m told “You’re a nice guy”, but deep down, I know what a rotten fellow I am. I’ve learned not to sugarcoat who I am.

We all have failures. We all make mistakes. We all have “issues”. But it’s who God says I am that matters. Not my wife, my friends, my enemies, my betrayers. It’s what God says.

I’ve noticed that I do much better when I focus on God than on me. I can be such a horrible person with hatred or anger building up inside. Yet, when I come to my senses and repent, He accepts me. Just like I am. Jesus died for me when I was yet a sinner. I must be worth something.

Psalm 139 tells me I’m fearfully and wonderfully made. I never feel fearfully or wonderfully made. But He says I am. My focus has to be on God and who He says I am. I’m worth dying for. How crazy is that?

So I remember this, and find I eat less, exercise more and for the right reason. Not to be accepted by anyone, or even God. But because He has placed a desire in me to succeed. To live a healthy life. To help other people. To be what He made me. To be who I am.

Who am I? I’m Joe and everything that goes along with it. And God is OK with that.

2 Responses

  1. This was great, always be healthy for YOU ! It is very important. Sorry that I talk to you about this, but have you tried 4 Life’s Natural Products? They’re great and they work, my mom is so much healthier and other people we’ve helped. We have products of any kind to stay fit, healthy and to help for different diseases and/or conditions. Contact me for information here: janicesanchez4life@outlook.com or go on my page: http://janicesanchez.my4life.com/1/default.aspx Thank you for sharing a piece of you. – Janice

  2. Thank you. It’s a question I think we all ask of ourselves at different points in our life. By the way, I think you’re great! Hope to see you and Bonnie soon:)

Leave a Reply

