Stand Tall

(Stand Tall is a song by former lead man of the Guess Who, Burton Cummings)

Old habits die hard.

I heard a saying that if you do something for 30 days, it becomes a habit. For example, eating healthy, or exercise. Well I’d been doing pretty good, but since December 13th, haven’t taken any walks toward the 199 I want.

I’ve been eating poorly and not exercising. Weight is at 164.2 this morning. But, although I’ve lost ground, maybe have lost some battles, the war still rages. There are two options: quit or fight. I choose to fight.

Hopefully you’ll learn from my mistakes, and that’s what this is about.

A mindset can be molded, but it must be maintained. It can be solidified, but can also became liquified. But even though I consider this a huge setback, I know that through Christ’s help, I’ll do this.

Isaiah 50:7 says “But the Lord God helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced; therefore I have set my face like a flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame.” So I will set my face like flint. I know that God will help me.

Reading over the pasts posts on this blog, there are lots of failures. Many screw ups.  I should be further along than I am. But, as the saying goes, “it is what it is”.

This blog will hopefully encourage those who are struggling with not just weight, but other issues. This is a book about life. The successes and failures, ups and downs, good and bad.

The holidays kicked my butt. I got lazy, and I got sidetracked. I admit my mistakes, now lets move on. We can’t lay in self pity and have a party. Acknowledge what we’ve done, don’t make excuses, don’t be a victim, admit our weaknesses, and move on. I will, and hope you will do.

This is not the end of the story. It’s a chapter. We will look back on these instances, and do what we’re called to do. That is to succeed.

This is all part of what my goals are for 2014. No excuses. Take responsibility. Not have a victim mentality. Not to complain. Be a doer of the Word and not a hearer.

You with me?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

