Born To Run

Ok, so it’s been over two weeks since my last blog. How fast time flies when you’re having fun.

I had about two weeks of maintaining my weight, not following the eating plan as strictly as I had and not exercising regularly, so I have figured out how to maintain. I don’t want to maintain at this weight, so I’ve been getting serious the past few days.

I’ve hit Planet Fitness regularly, and EVEN JOGGED. I don’t know the last time I ran, (I think when the buffet was closing in five minutes), so it felt good. Ok, not exactly run, but jog. Haven’t done that for a very long time. And when I was jogging, my friend Alec came over to talk to me, and I actually carried on a conversation WHILE jogging. THAT has been a very long time.

So I’m feeling good. People are starting to notice, and that’s cool, but the cooler thing is I feel so much better. Much more energy, and it’s actually funny. I’ve noticed that I actually run up the steps. This isn’t planned, just break out into a run. This is all crazy. I love it though. Makes me feel like a kid. A fat kid, but one that’s working it off.

My legs are a bit sore, but who’d thought I’d be running? Not me. So the focus is to walk, but I go and run a couple minutes, walk five or six, run a couple more, walk five or six, etc. It’s working as I’m burning over 300 calories on the treadmill, which excites me also.Not exactly Olympian is style or effort, but I never dreamed I’d have the energy to do this. Excite, yes, very much so thank you.

I believe there is a correlation between what’s going on physically and what’s going on spiritually. I’ve been digging into the Word and memorizing Scripture. That gets my spirit going and it carries over physically. It’s like I am a new person, almost like when I received Christ. I’m able to do things now that I couldn’t before.

Have you ever been losing weight and you step on the scale, and see numbers you haven’t seen for awhile, and you can’t believe it? So you step off and get back on. And it’s the same. Bonnie reminded me that ten years ago, when I followed Weight Watchers, that I was 243, the lowest I’ve been in 10 years. But I got tired of counting points, so i fell off and never tried to climb back on. But today I am at 247.4, a drop of 26.5 pounds since Feb. 3rd and 36 since March of 2013. I’ve gone, so far from size 48 pants to 42 and they’re getting baggy. I went from 18 1/2 size shirt to 17 1/2. This is exciting.

I’m enjoying eating for the first time in a long time. No guilt, no condemnation. I do the best I can, and I tell you, I’m good with this. I’ve discovered that if you fail to prepare, you prepare to fail. I HAVE, thanks to Bonnie, been prepared for all the “goodies” in life and take no chances. I have my snacks, healthy snacks, around me constantly. It works.

So, what is your struggle? Are you still fighting it or have you thrown in the towel, like Roberto Duran, shouting, “No Mas”? Whatever you do, don’t quit. Ever. Take a time out, take a break, but don’t quit. Get rested, get back up. Keep your eye on the goal. It’s there. Seriously, if I can do this, you can.

Weight: 247.4

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

