Sixty Eve

Tomorrow is a big one. I’ve had a lot, but not this big. Tomorrow, I turn 60.
Crazy, not sure how I got here. My goal was to be in my best shape ever at 60, better than I was at 50.
My blood work says I’ve done what I wanted to accomplish. Also, I wanted to be at 260 or below by October first, and as of today, I am exactly 260.0! Considering in March I was 279, and in June I was 277, I’m happy.
This walking has really gotten into my blood. I can’t wait for the walks, and although I prefer with Bonnie, I have no issue walking solo.
Sixty is weird. And I’m totally cool with it. I’m liking getting older, I’m liking how I feel, I’m liking how I look, and after 30 years, I’m still loving who I married. I’ve been married half my life. I don’t remember life without her. I don’t think I had a life before her.
The walking works. Maintaining a discipline of just being careful, but not giving up anything. I can still eat sweets, I can still eat pasta (real pasta, not the brown kind), I can drink a Coke, eat mashed potatoes, anything, but all of it in moderation.
That’s the key to everything, isn’t it? Moderation. I can overdo anything. Well, anything I like: food, games, football, anything. So, eventually, the light clicked on, and here I am. I am confident I will never see 270 again, if I keep doing what I’m doing. I can’t wait to say that about 260, but it will happen. Looking forward to 199.
Sorry, I can’t do the diet thing. I’m Italian. That diet stuff just goes against everything I’ve learned. Mangiare bere e divertirsi, which is “Eat, drink, and be merry” in Italian.
I figure I’m 2/3 done with life. My plan is 90. Hey, Ben doesn’t have kids yet and I have to make sure all my kids are raising my grandbabies right. God willing, I’m dancing at my grandkids weddings.
So on this Sixty Eve, I march on. Under the strength of Christ, the love of my wife, the encouragement from my kids, and the prayers of you, I will carry on. I want to encourage all who read this, that we need to embrace this life. No fear and no regrets.
Like Red Skelton said, (You youngsters can look him up), “Don’t take life too serious. You’ll never get out of it alive anyhow”.
Let’s do this.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

