Distractions

is

 

I’ve noticed that throughout most of my life, I become easily distracted. Either by a thought, a sight, sound, or even a smell. I feel like a sheep that spots a butterfly and follows it, forgetting totally what I was doing.

Morning prayer doesn’t come easy. My stomach keeps saying, “You need breakfast. You will not be able to focus if you don’t eat. You might even die” I start to write a blog and my phone “dings”, telling me that either the Yankees made a move or that someone likes my picture on Instagram. I have to check it out because, after all, I AM that important.

I read in my office, and hear the TV downstairs. “Is that Seinfeld? I don’t think I’ve seen that episode. Wow, Kramer is funny. Did I see that show or was that on Monday. Oh, Monday, boy did it snow. Oh, I have to finish shoveling out the front sidewalk.” It goes on and on. Next think I know I put the book down and begin to shovel the snow.

Has this ever happened to you? You start a project, let’s say, patching holes in the wall so you can paint. I go downstairs to get the putty, and notice that the work area is a mess. So, I start to straighten it out and find an empty jar that is perfect for the small nails I have. So I begin to gather the small nails and put them in the jar.

The shelf that I want to put the nails on is covered with sandpaper and paint supplies. I move those to the bottom shelf and see all the extension cords are not tied up together. So, I look for the twine to tie them together and realize that I left it upstairs. Going upstairs I see a couple dirty dishes in the sink, and decide to be a nice fella and put them in the dishwasher.

The dishwasher has clean dishes so I have to put them away. So I put the dishes away, and as I begin to load the dishwasher, I see that we’re out of dishwasher soap. So I head downstairs, and remember that I wanted to get the twine in the junk drawer upstairs. As I get the dishwasher soap, I notice that there are clothes that are dry and need brought upstairs.

I grab the clothes and take them to my office, forgetting the dish soap or even the twine, and put my clothes away, and notice that my one brown dress shoe is missing. I look in the office and can’t find it, but remember I kicked them off in the bedroom and must have brought only one into the office. I go in the bedroom, and notice the dog has messed up the bed. I straighten out the bed and head downstairs, noticing that I need to patch the wall in the stairwell before I can paint it. But it’s late. Maybe tomorrow.

Bonnie asks what I did all day. “Nothing”.

I don’t know, maybe it’s just me?

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

